Posted by: somesangs | December 7, 2007

A ‘Songs You Should Be Listening To, But Probably Aren’t’ Sang

I’m a huge fan of clever music. I think I share some strange hereditary trait with C.C. Chapman, who clearly has the bug as well. Accident Hash, his music blog, is full of independent goodness. Check it out if you’re feeling musically constipated. (That term is trademarked by moi…don’t even think about it…) This list is a bit mainstream…but makes me happy nonetheless.

If you’re expecting clever insight into the world of public relations and marketing today, please click ‘Mark as Read’ and visit Bill instead. It’s Friday…and I’m coasting into the weekend with this great new playlist:

1. Say – John Mayer
I think this is his new single. It’s listed under Pop on iTunes…which scared me…but I ended up enjoying the heck out of it.

2. Our Finest Year – Better Than Ezra

3. I’m a Sucker for a Kind Word and By My Side – Copeland
If you haven’t seen Copeland live…it’s a must. Killer lyrics.

4. I’ve Got You and Sleepsinging – The Damnwells
Another must-see live band…anyone who can play a steel guitar and NOT cause me to hum “Achy Breaky Heart” wins. Sleepsinging is one of my all-time favorite tunes.

5. You Belong to Me – Elvis Costello
When is the last time you busted out the Costello album? Today’s the day.

6. If You Find Her – Future of Forestry
Ok, this one’s a little sappy…don’t listen if you’re prone to gag or cry in response to anything romantical. πŸ™‚

7. Killing for Love – Jose Gonzalez

8. Yes You Have – Leeland

9. Bleed Together – Lovedrug

10. Time is Running Out – Muse

11. Somebody More Like You – Nickel Creek
Not to be confused with Nickelback…I shiver at the thought…

12. Maybe, This Time – OK Go

13. No Bad News – Patty Griffin
You know anything by Patty Griffin is incredible…epitome of talent.

14. Hold You in My Arms – Ray LaMontagne
Ray’s story is sick…if you haven’t heard it, here ya go.

15. The Words We Say – Straylight Run

16. Better Together – Jack Johnson

There it is…get to downloading, push play and work away…

It’s a ‘good tunes for working sang’…

La la laaaa,

somesangs-128.jpg

Responses

  1. keep up the music inspiring work. i dig it..
    i’ll let you know what i think of that which is new to me πŸ™‚

  2. you don’t have the “apologize” song on this playlist. I figured it might be the #1 song … since I hear it coming from your office every single day of my life πŸ™‚

  3. please give credit where credit is due on where the “things you should be listening to but probably aren’t” lists. thank youuuu…. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

